Warriors Beat Celtics to Claim  Fourth Title in Eight Years

The Golden State Warriors beat the Boston Celtics to claim their fourth NBA title in eight years and first since 2018.

The Warriors won 103-90 in-game six in Boston to clinch the series 4-2.

Having finished 2019-20 with a dire 15-50 record, they are also the first team to go from the league’s worst side to a championship in two years.

Stephen Curry, twice the most valuable player in the regular season, was NBA Finals MVP for the first time.

The 34-year-old point guard averaged 31.2 points in the six games and scored 34 points in Thursday’s win, adding seven assists and seven rebounds.

Andrew Wiggins scored 18 points and Jordan Poole 15 as Golden State won the NBA championship for the first time in four years.

They also won the title in 2015, 2017 and 2018, but lost the 2016 and 2019 finals before missing out on the play-offs in the past two seasons while rebuilding their squad.

Kevin Durant left the San Francisco-based franchise as a free agent in 2019, while Curry and Klay Thompson – who scored 12 points on Thursday – were injured during the 2019-20 season.

The duo, along with key defensive player Draymond Green, have played a key role in their four title wins.

The Celtics led 14-2 after four minutes and 22-16 late in the first quarter before the Warriors went on a 21-0 run to go 37-22 up with just over 10 minutes remaining in the half.

When Curry scored three three-pointers in the first six minutes of the third quarter, pushing Golden State’s led to 72-50. he nodded his head and began pointing to his ring finger.

Golden State beat the Dallas Mavericks to win the Western Conference and become the first team to reach the Finals six times in eight years since the Chicago Bulls in the 1990s.

The Michael Jordan-led Bulls won six NBA titles from 1991 to 1998, and Warriors coach Steve Kerr played in the last three of those wins.

Curry’s accuracy from beyond the arc has transformed the game and he broke the league’s all-time three-point record in December.

Players in every position are now expected to be able to shoot – and guard against – three-pointers.

Curry is the seventh player to win at least four championships and two regular-season MVP awards, after Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Tim Duncan, LeBron James, Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan, and Bill Russell.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Rhemii Ice - Twenty Four Hours

Lyrically Badd - Ride or Die

Lyrically Badd - Missing You (Audio Visual) ft. Chikie Grainz

Rhemii Ice live at Margaritaville Montego Bay

Lyrically Badd - We Up Now (Official Music Video)​

Di Energy by Minx (Audio Visual Dancehall 2022)